The Break Down (Week of 1/7/13)

Hello Ladies & Gents!  I hope you had the most spectacular week possible!

I know it’s only been, what, 10 days since I started my transformation to “Making Marcia Melt”, but I already can’t help but look at my BEFORE PHOTO and think — WHO THE HECK IS THAT?!  I’m so not the person who is standing in that photo.  I’m already feeling my body transforming (slightly, but I can feel it), my face isn’t as broke out as normal, I’m moving at a faster pace, I can bend over and touch my toes without straining, and I have an AMAZING mental attitude.

For the first time, I’m doing something for ME!  I love it!  I love myself!  Wait, let me say that again — I LOVE MYSELF!!!  Damn that feels good!

This week I realized that it might be harder and harder to continually update my blog.  So, I wanted to let you know that I will be posting here and there throughout the week, but will do a complete update every Sunday evening.  With working out, cooking and whatnot … I’m running out of time on the computer.  Which, is absolutely a GOOD thang!

So, here’s what has happened this week…..

MONDAY, JAN 7:  My first day of boot camp.  Read my BOOT CAMP DAY 1 post for a complete break down of how it went.  Plus, it was my hubby’s first day back to work after being home with me for over 16 days.  To say the least, I was nervous as hell to be doing this all on my own, but I was also extremely sad to not have him with me day-to-day.  It was hard to kiss him good-bye on Monday morning.  Even our dog Lucy was depressed all day!

TUESDAY, JAN 8:  Was feeling EXTREMELY SORE this day after Boot Camp!  Luckily, my family, friends and fans all talked me out of skipping a workout.  I ended up deciding to take a “Slow & Steady” walk with my puppy to at least try and stretch out the muscles (I did have HOT YOGA on the schedule for the day though!  LOL!  That was so not happening!).  I ended up doing TWO MILES without looking back! (1/8/13 Post)

WEDNESDAY, JAN 9:  Attended DANCE TRANCE.  I started dancing when I was 2yo, I stopped when I left for College.  DT has been one of the things that has honestly helped me get excited about losing weight.  The entire 60-minutes that I am in the class, I don’t feel like I am working out.  The set-up is made to feel like you are at “The Club” on a Friday night.  All songs choreographed are Hip-Hop or at least on the Top Hits list.  This week’s choice was Bruno Mars, “Locked out of Heaven”.  ❤ that song!  And the dance is so fun!  Check out DANCE TRANCE online and see if there is a location near you.

THURSDAY, JAN 10:  Ahhh… attended STRESS RELIEVERS YOGA.  I can’t even describe the feelings I had when I walked out of that class on Thursday morning.  I think I actually had a “Perma Grin”!  I told my husband this weekend that I have decided to reduce my cell phone bill (which, I barely use anymore anyhow because I don’t own/manage any businesses right now) and use the money (once my membership ends) to pay for Yoga (and my dance class).  As I was explaining to him why this was my choice, I was getting choked up.  Not because I was upset to get rid of my cell phone, but because Yoga has literally become my “solid ground”.  It honestly centers me and makes me HAPPY.  I honestly went to workout every single day this week thinking “You just have to get through this workout so you can attend Yoga on Thursday.  You have — more days.  You can do it!”.  And therefore, if something is that powerful in getting me to stick to my goals, I cannot afford to give it up in any manner!  Thankfully, my amazing hubster agreed.  🙂  (Love that guy!)  So, my friends… find a class that makes YOU happy.  If you and your partner like to dance, try a couples dance lesson.  If you like Yoga, sign up for Yoga.  Wanna try something new?  Go take a striptease or pole dancing class!  (This is next on my list… just need to drop another 10-20 pounds.)  Whatever it is, you need to keep your workout schedule exciting and sustainable!  Prevent the burn out and stay excited!

FRIDAY, JAN 11:  Boot Camp Day 2.  I’m not sure if it was the Yoga the day before, drinking tons of water on Thursday and the morning of, eating healthier and working out all week or what.  BUT, I actually enjoyed Day 2 of the Boot Camp and managed to complete at least 90% of the workout moves.  Now, don’t think — oh, you liked it?  Well you didn’t nearly work hard enough!  — Ha!  Kiss my ass!  If you would have seen me after that 1-hour session, you would have thrown up.  😉  I came out of there feeling like a damn rock star!!  And, that consequently lead me to post my song of the week on Facebook — Kelly Clarkson, “Catch my Breath”.  The words to this song absolutely reach out to me and just make me feel AH-MAZING!  It completely puts my feelings into a song….

“Catch my Breath, Letting it Go, Turning my cheek for the sake of the show.  Now that you know, THIS IS MY LIFE, I won’t be told what’s suppose to be right!  Catch my breath, no one can hold me back, I ain’t got time for that!  Catch my breath, won’t let them get me down, it’s all so simple now!”  — Kelly Clarkson, “Catch my Breath”

Friday night came and I was on FIRE!  Hubby was home, I was excited, I couldn’t believe I had made it through my Boot Camp class and I just felt I had to congratulate myself, but I didn’t want to do it with food.  So, hubby and I sat down at the kitchen table and hacked out a list of “My Personal Rewards”.  In addition, we organized the next weeks meals and grocery list.  What surprised me next, he made a promise to me that he was also going to get healthier.  My heart blew up!  It was reward enough to know that I had encouraged him to make a change.  I’d like to think my “Come to Jesus” talk I had with him a few days before helped.  Basically, I told him that I was doing this to keep me ALIVE longer.  I also told him how I needed his support and I needed for him to TRY and make a change (not for me, but for himself).

SATURDAY, JAN 12:  Finally, a BREAK!  After working out for five days in a row, I felt it was time to give myself a “little” slack.  I took the day off from working out and opted to visit the local farmers market with my hubby.  I was extremely disappointed to not see a single veggie on the park grounds in Apopka, FL!  They advertised all week about it being this BIG Farmers Market and there being a local grower (who I love) there.  Hopefully, it will eventually grow because it’s very close to home and I would hate to see others feel the same as I did.  So, we ended up heading to do some errands and then back home.  I headed out to the grocery store, made a detour and ended up at Old Navy with my $25 gift card from Christmas from my parents.  I ended up buying myself a new work-out outfit.  It’s a size SMALLER than I normally get!!  I can’t wait to put it on tomorrow.  It’s so cute!  I also ended up finding a Size 16 pair of jeans for $15.  They fit me perfectly, but they won’t fasten.  I decided to purchase them anyways.  When I got to the grocery store, I purchased a hook with the sticky backing stuff.  I’m going to hang them on my bedroom door as a constant daily reminder.  I will be in those pants sooner than later!  Guarantee you!  I was very proud of myself with the choices I made at the grocery store.  Everything I purchased was HEALTHY.  Take a look…..

Mostly Organic, Grass-Fed and HEALTHY!

Mostly Organic, Grass-Fed and HEALTHY!

I also managed to make it through a double date night without totally messing up the diet!  (Or so I think I did fairly well)  We went to a local brewery with a friend of mine and her boyfriend.  My husband and I ended up splitting a “sampler” that had 6 – maybe 4 oz glasses of beer in them.  I maybe had 2 oz out of all of them.  (I’m not a big beer drinker)  For food, I got the GRILLED Chicken Cordon Bleu sliders.  I omitted the Mayo and the Honey Mustard and opted for steamed veggies (no butter) instead of French Fries/Chips.  I ate one slider with the bun and then gave the 2nd one to my husband.  🙂  After the date was done, Hubby and I were on a roll.  We didn’t feel like going home just yet.  So, we stopped into a local pub that is by our home.  We’ve always thought about going in, but never did because it just looks “scary” from the outside.  Ha!  We actually ended up having a GREAT time!  There was maybe 20 other people in the whole place.  All locals.  The bartenders were two ladies who were a hoot and the band was AWESOME!  Without thinking first, I put in a order for a Malibu and Pineapple and sucked it down…. then, ordered another.  I finally wised up, jumped on MyFitnessPal app and logged what I had and made sure I didn’t screw up too awfully!  LOL.  I’m officially insane!  I honestly logged my diary in a BAR!  LOL!  Luckily, I was fine.  I drank water the rest of the evening and then went home and made myself some celery with almond butter and a dark hot cocoa.  😉

SUNDAY, JAN 13:  I didn’t sleep well last night.  Went to bed at 2am, because I was probably rocking on sugar!  LOL!  And was woken at 6:30am with a major allergy attack.  Nose running, itching and my entire face just felt like it was on fire!  SUCKED!  In addition, I had to be at a job interview at 10am (bad planning on my part completely!).  Well, the interview rocked and I am so excited to work with this new client.  She’s a sweetheart!  I am really leaning towards working/volunteering more with the Special Needs community.  I actually posted on FB that I am thinking about becoming a peer athlete with the Special Olympics.  I think it would be so fun, but it would also help to keep my in shape.  Plus, it would encourage me to keep working out because I would want to be a great role model for the kids I was working for.

My plan was to nap and just have a over-all lazy day today.  BUT, I ended up taking a 1.73 mile walk with my hubby and Lucy (dog) instead!  SCORE!  I do have to say though, I was beginning to feel like crap for taking the weekend off.  I don’t know if I can do two days in a row off.  Plus, I wanted to do something so I am not TIGHT tomorrow at Boot Camp.

So… this is how it all turned out….

WEEK’S PROGRESS
TOTAL CALORIES BURNED: 3007 (Holy CRAP!!!)
WEIGHT LOST THIS WEEK: 2.6 lbs (my personal goal was 2.7 lbs per week.  pretty darn close!)
TOTAL WEIGHT LOST: 7.6 lbs since Jan 3rd.

Well folks, I must put myself to bed.  I have to be up at 4:15am for boot camp at 5:30am!  Cheer-e-o!  Have a great week!

Are you a fan?  Keep up with photo posts and more info (I post more there) and LIKE me.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “The Break Down (Week of 1/7/13)

  1. I get that same quinoa–QUINOA is a weight loss/healthy eating god. I am obsessed with it so had to comment-lol.
    good luck! you rock!

Leave a Reply

