NO EXCUSES! — Working out, with children in tow.

For those of you who missed my morning post on Facebook…  I was a Nanny for over 10 years.  Ms. F was my last charge while working as a Professional Nanny.  I’ve watched her from the time she was 10 months old.  She is going to be 6 yo in April.  (So hard to believe!)  She is the sweetest, cutest, and most outgoing child I have ever worked with.  She makes my days so enjoyable when I am with her.  It’s just sooo hard to be upset when you are around her.  The things she says and does gives me an instant “perma grin”.  =)  I love her with all my heart; as if she is one of my own.  I am no longer with her full-time (filling in today), but I still get the pleasure of being with her from time-to-time.  I always make sure the time we spend together is valuable.  Life is way to short not to and I value the time I have with her each and every time.
(Nanny M loves YOU Ms. F!)

My workout partner today was amazing! She did the whole thing without complaining. I think she was showing off a little. 😉

I guess I never realized how much can be done in a park with a kid in tow.  Of course, maybe my “healthy brain” was covered under a lot of fat two years ago?! Perhaps.  Either way, we managed to “get ‘er done” while having fun today.  As Ms. F told me, “Thank Goodwess the Wain stayed away”.  

Here’s what we did while at the park….

20130207-145830.jpgWe started out with a little run in the grass outside the baseball field.
AKA: I’m going to get you! And,You can’t get me!

20130207-150042.jpg
Next, “we” did ten push-ups (three reps).

20130207-150053.jpg
This was her favorite part. Running the stairs. She kinda made me nervous, BUT she did an amazing job. We went up and down five times. (Giggling the entire time…)

20130207-150103.jpg
Every girl should learn how to do  squats at an early age.
(Ha! She actually sat down all the way though.)

I did three reps of 10.

20130207-150112.jpg
Then, Ms. F made a beat on the conga drums while I….

20130207-150124.jpg
Drummed out a stepping beat of my own on this here step. (Got 20 on each leg)

Five minutes later. Ms. F crashed her shin into this stair and our day at the park was over. Well, until I cheered her up with a friendly run from the playground to the car. I let her win! 😉

Afterwards, we joined my hubby for lunch.  We were both starving.  Ms. F was asking for Lunch with Tom and Spaghetti.  I managed to talk her out of the Italian Restaurant.  We ended up at Outback instead.  I had Chicken on the Barbie (no seasoning and no BBQ sauce) and Steamed Broccoli (no seasoning or butter).  Ms. F, she had a “Burger & Fries”. Her favorite! (As did Tom too!  She was pretty excited about that.)

We both ended up happy in the end.  Except for maybe the few times I traded her a French Fry for a piece of Broccoli.  If only I had recorded her disgust each time I handed her a green tree.  Ha!  I only managed to walk away with four french fries in my belly.  Thankfully!

After lunch, we hit the car wash.  Her new favorite thing to do.  I got a clean car and a workout (while vacuuming the inside) and she got free entertainment.  DEAL!  I should take her every time I go.  🙂

Now, she’s passed out cold on the couch.  I have to wake her up in 15 minutes to get ready for Dance Class.  I’m pretty sure she will sleep very well for her Momma tonight.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “NO EXCUSES! — Working out, with children in tow.

  1. Amy says:

    That is Awesome! Keep going!

Leave a Reply

